The Colorado Blue Society Congratulates The John Weeks Band and A.J. Fullerton the Winners of the 2016 Colorado Blues Challenge!
They will represent CBS at the International Blues Challenge in Memphis in January 2017! We are proud of all of the artists that performed in this years competition. The blues talent in Colorado just keeps getting better! Thanks to all of the fans and venues that supported the events this year.
The John Weeks Band (photo by Jim Drake)
A. J. Fullerton, John Weeks, Moses Walker

This years competition offered a twist that should have been explained at the competition on Sunday May 1. While musicians can compete in both of our local competitions (Solo/Duo and Band) they can only participate in ONE event in Memphis. This year John Weeks and Moses Walker actually won the S/D competition, but John made the choice of taking the Band slot for Memphis, thus opening the S/D slot for runner-up AJ Fullerton. Our goal is to get as many acts into the local competition as possible, so many musicians have entered in both categories over the years, knowing if they win both, they must make a choice for Memphis.

From Kyle Deibler
"Dear friends and fans of the Colorado Blues Challenge,
While I'm preparing to head to Memphis in the morning for the Blues Music Awards, I've come to the realization that we, the Colorado Blues Society, missed the opportunity Sunday to at least celebrate for the moment, a rare double win in the Blues Challenge by John Weeks. Moses Walker & John Weeks were the winning solo/duo in Sunday's competition to go along with John's band victory, and by rule; John had to make the determination of which act he wanted to head to Memphis with for the IBC. Knowing John's decision in advance, I announced A.J. Fullerton as the champion in the solo/duo division and he will represent CBS proudly in Memphis. But in the moment, we failed to give Moses Walker & John Weeks their due, for their winning performance on Sunday, and as the contest coordinator, I deeply regret that we missed that opportunity. In retrospect I should have announced Moses & John as the rightful winners in the solo/duo category, explained the Blues Foundation competition rule and then announce that A.J. would be our representative for the 2017 International Blues Challenge. Following procedures doesn't always make for the best execution and this is something I guarantee won't happen again. In closing, thanks again to all of you for supporting the competition, and the venues, judges, solo/duo and band entries that made this year's Colorado Blues Challenge the amazing event it was!
Kyle Deibler, CBS IBC Chairman"

CBS IBC Past Band Winners:

2016 Band - Rex Peoples and X Factr

2015 Band - Eef and the Blues Express

2014 Band - Bad Brad and the Fat Cats - Competed in the IBC Finals

2013 Band – Dan Treanor & Afrosippi featuring Erica Brown
(Dan Treanor & Afrosippi fea. Ercia Brown took 3rd Place in the 2013 Band Finals Competition)

2012 Band - Delta Sonics

2011 Band - Lionel Young Band
(The Lionel Young Band was the overall winner in the 2011 Band Competition)

2010 Band - Boa & The Constrictors

2009 Band - The Johnny O Band

2008 Band - The Erica Brown Band

CBS IBC Past Solo/Duo Winners:

2016 Solo/Duo - Dan Treanor and Randall Dubis

2015 Solo/Duo - Cary Morin

2014 Solo/Duo - Cary Morin

2013 Solo/Duo – Jack Yoder

2012 Solo/Duo - Johnny O.

2011 Solo/Duo - Big Jim Adam & John Stilwagen
( Big Jim & John advanced to the 2011 Solo/Duo Finals Competition)

2010 Solo/Duo - Big Jim Adam & John Stilwagen

2009 Solo/Duo - Ben Stevens

2008 Solo/Duo - Lionel Young
(Lionel Young was the overall winner in the 2008 Solo/Duo Competition)

More info on the Blues Foundation and the IBC